The Declaration of Codependence mixtape

Fifty love songs in honor of America and marriage (for everyone), chosen by some of my favorite musicians, actors, and podcasters.

listen to the playlist:


Here's the track listing, along with who contributed each love song:

Lee Moses – Time and Place – from Loren Bouchard (Bob's Burgers)
The Crystals – Then He Kissed Me – from Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Scott Pilgrim)
The Magnetic Fields – When My Boy Walks Down The Street – from Alex Brown Church (Sea Wolf)
Erasure – A Little Respect – from Jona Bechtolt (YACHT)
Mary J. Blige – Real Love – from Anil Dash (ThinkUp)
Daft Punk – Something About Us – from André Allen Anjos (RAC)
Antonio Carlos Jobim – Corcovado – from Jeff Beal (House of Cards)
Family Fodder – Fuck You Till I’m Dead – from Claire Evans (YACHT)
The Smiths – There is a Light that Never Goes Out – from Jim Eno (Spoon)
The Talking Heads – This Must Be The Place – from Ulrik Denizou Lund (LeMaitre)
Yo La Tengo – Our Way to Fall – from Open Mike Eagle
D'angelo – One Mo'gin – from Aakaash Israni (Dawn of Midi)
Fiona Apple – Paper Bag – from Andrew Huang (Björk)
Edith Piaf – Hymne à L'amour – from Jim James (My Morning Jacket)
Berntholer – My Suitor – from Jimmy Tamborello (The Postal Service)
Gil Scott-Heron and Jamie XX – I’ll Take Care of U – from Keith Stanfield (Selma)
Stevie Wonder – Knocks Me Off My Feet – from Casey Dienel (White Hinterland)
Olivia Newton-John – Hopelessly Devoted to You – from Matt Berninger (The National)
Lauryn Hill and D'Angelo – Nothing Even Matters – from Sam Valenti IV (Ghostly International)
The Sea and Cake – The Fawn – from Jeff McIlwain (Lusine)
The Magnetic Fields – I Don't Want To Get Over You – from Justin Meldal-Johnsen (M83)
Otis Redding – Love Man – from Brad Neely (China, IL)
Billie Holiday – You Go To My Head – from Alfred Darlington (Daedelus)
The Association – Never My Love – from James Ponsoldt (The Spectacular Now)
Dean Friedman – Ariel – from Josh Malina (The West Wing)
Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Perpetuum Mobile – from Nick Zammuto (The Books)
Roxy Music – If There Is Something by Roddy Bottum (Faith No More)
Bruce Springsteen – Thunder Road by Mike Simonetti (Pale Blue)
Mary Wells – I'm Gonna Stay – from Will Butler (Arcade Fire)
The Pogues – Love You to the End – from Michael Ian Black (Wet Hot American Summer)
Dawes – Love Is All I Am – from Jamison Baerg (Teen Daze)
Richard Swift – Half Lit – from Jimmy LaValle (The Album Leaf)
Richard and Linda Thompson – A Heart Needs a Home – from Nate DiMeo (The Memory Palace)
Frank Ocean – Forrest Gump – from Will Abramson (Yours Truly)
Dntel – Rock My Boat (ft. Mia Doi Todd) – from Hrishikesh Hirway (Song Exploder)
Outkast – Prototype – from Jason Chung (Nosaj Thing)
Ketty Lester – Love Letters – from Alex Goldman (Reply All)
Joe Jackson – A Slow Song – from Scott Lapatine (Stereogum)
Melody Gardot – Our Love is Easy – from Abigail Spencer (Rectify)
K-Ci & JoJo – All My Life – from Ilan Zechory (Genius)
Donny Hathaway – You Were Meant for Me – from RJ Krohn (RJD2)
The Mountain Goats – Love Love Love – from Martin Starr (Silicon Valley)
Beauty Pill – You, Yes You – from Roman Mars (99% Invisible)
Ida – Tellings – from Mike Kinsella (American Football)
Anne Murray – Danny’s Song – from Owen Pallett
Stone Temple Pilots – Atlanta – from Bryan Lee O'Malley (Scott Pilgrim)
Roger Eno and Kate St. John – We Stay Still – from Jeremy Zuckerman (Legend of Korra)
Big Star – Thirteen – from PJ Vogt (Reply All)
Nick Cave – Into My Arms – from Dustin O'Halloran (Transparent)
Nina Simone – Wild is the Wind – from Shirley Manson (Garbage) and Kazu Makino (Blonde Redhead)

If you’d like to get a weekly mixtape from Song Exploder, sign up for the Five Song Fridays newsletter.