Episode 165: Sleater-Kinney

“The Future Is Here”

Sleater-Kinney was formed in 1994 by Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein. Drummer Janet Weiss was a member of the band from 1997 until 2019. In 2001, author and critic Greil Marcus named Sleater-Kinney “America’s Best Band” in Time Magazine. Over the years, they’ve made nine albums, including this year’s The Center Won’t Hold which was produced by Annie Clark of St. Vincent. In this episode, Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein break down how the song “The Future Is Here” was made.

You can buy or stream “The Future is Here” right here.

For a transcript of this episode, click here.

Illustration by Carlos Lerma.

Joseph Keckler
Weirdo Night at Zebulon
St Vincent episode of Song Exploder